liar,liar pants on fire

Of all the crazy making things my FASD kids do it is the constant,often for no real reason,lying. I hate lying. I think that is why God gave me children who lie. I am not kidding. It is kind of like being counciledto never pray for patience because God will put you is situations where you need a ton of it.
I will never,ever begin to understand the need to lie for no reason,or to lie when you know for a fact you are going to be caught out within a ten second window.
Sigh.
FASD kids also preservere. They get stuck. They have a very hard time seeing that cause goes with effect.
My sixteen year old has decided he is not going to do his history for school. Oh he appears to be working. Tells me he is working. He even will tell me just how far he has progressed. Then the inevetible happens and I ask him to leave his work on the kitchen table so I can check his answers over my morning coffee.
His fisrt line of defense is to “forget” to leave his work out. (this entails taking his work up to his room to ‘finish’ instead of leaving it with his other books downstairs). The second line is to give me his work and then be shocked he has missed several questions. His third line of defense is to get a brand new spiral and pretend he is now on chapeter 17 instead of the chapter 8 I kicked back for corrections (and to be completed). His other work will have disapeared.
Don’t you hate it when that happens?
His final line of defence is to begin dissapearing for twenty minute intervals durring the day and play on his tablet or text his siblings on his brothers old Ipod Touch.
Today I confiscated his electronics for texting. He of course insisted you cannot text on the Ipod touch which is the reason his brother had origionally purchased it for himself.
The result of all of this is  not a sudden burst of scholarly energy.
He is still refusing to do his history (while swearing up and down he is doing his  history).
He is also not talking to me or making eye contact. You see,if he does not look at me I must cease to exist.
In case you are wondering, his history is intended for eighth graders and he is more than capable of doing it. I am always available to help if he does not understand a question. He has never,ever been in trouble for asking for help.
No answers for this dilema.
He has decided history is the hill he is going to die over this term. He has decided to ilegally text (whic his better than the cheating he chose to do last year) to show me who is boss.
Stalemate it is.
I have his electronics.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to liar,liar pants on fire

  1. Jeanne says:

    Someone in Arizona is praying for you. ❤

Leave a Reply

