and then there was one

My middle son moved out today. He has decided to suport his sister ( financially ) and they now have an apartment together . Or perhaps I should say he has an apartment and she is also living there.  Her living situation had become untenable. Much drama. She refused to move home. He felt  she would be homeless without his support. It is not how I wanted it. I would rather he live with his buddies or live alone. I hope this works for them both.
I have my doubts. His sister is simply not making good decisions. Maybe he will be a stabilizing influence  on her.

After nearly thirty years with two or more kids in the house we are down to one. It is going to be very weird. I am going to have to learn to cook for three instead of five with huge appetite. Our water bill went down thirty dollars per month when my daughter moved out. I wonder how much it will go down now?

My sixteen year old says he is OK. I am glad we have therapy in place for him and he is back involved with CAP and Karate. I wish he had some buddies. He did go to a Halloween  party and said he even danced. (!!!!!) I think he is doing much better than he was even a month ago. He has always had his brother and sister. They have been his surrogate parents when he was very small and his main companions ever since.They had their own language  at one point.  It may be the best thing to have happen for him. He will have to learn how to be himself  and stand alone for the first time in his life.

The house is going to seem so empty. There was never any conflict (besides the obligatory pathological lying and other basic living with FASD stuff.) He has always been my easiest child to raise. He was the first of the three to bond with us.
I am going to miss him even if he did rarely speak.
Do you remember  all that talk about how I was more than ready for the empty nest?
I think I lied.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

