i have seen those eyes

By now,everyone has been inindated  by stories of the shootings in Colorado. It was the eyes of the alleged shooter that first took my attention. The picture of him in dark hair,not joker-orange. You see, I have seen those eyes before.  The pictures of the shooter in court? I have seen those eyes as well.I have seen them in my home,in juvie,in court, in psych wards ,in RTC’s and in the “theraputic” foster home in which he was allowed to sodomise other boys. I have seen those eyes looking out at me from the face of my youngest son. The son who is and is not still my son. He bares our name,but we are not allowed to contact him.
On Saturday morning my son looked out at me from the face of another.
Not my son.
Someone else’s son.
It is an awful thing to know. To know that it could someday be my son. To know a child whom I love is capable of  such a thing is beyond anything I ever thought I would face.
It sometimes seems as if evil is winning in the battle for our children’s souls.
My own soul is weary.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

