in search of a therapist

Well,it is almost one hundred percent official. CPS staffed us and, I quote,” will allow A—- to return to our home.” It is a good thing I was told this over the phone so our illustrious worker couldn’t see my face. I said nothing in reply. What was I supposed to say? Thank you for returning our son to us who you took only because we had the audacity to ask for help? Thank you for having our son have yet one more placement to leave. Thank you for over-medicating him since June? Thank you for humiliating us?
I could go on,but I won’t.
We have one more “permanency meeting and two (hopefully it will only be two)more court dates and we will once again be parents to the child we adopted nearly three years ago. This means we will need a therapist who not only knows what he/she is doing,but will take our insurance. I have had one taker so far. He seems very optimistic to me.but he is our only taker. Everyone else runs screaming …OK, politely tells me they are not qualified to take on a teen as severely troubled as my son. I have had a few offer to see me,though. Is that because I am already rocking,gibbering in a corner,or they anticipate I soon will be?
I also need a Head Shrinker that takes our insurance that will not push pills just to sedate my son (unless that is truly what he needs to stay violence free) This is not as easy as it looks.
I am glad that youngest is coming home. I am also fearful because he is coming home. We do have hope he has gained some maturity and some insight into himself. we have some hope he no longer wants to be in prison and no longer wants to hurt people. We also know just how complicated and fragmented he is. We know how bad it can get and how quickly it can get there. This is he last chance. If he cannot make it safely at home this time there simply are no other options for him.
I think my quiet boring life is about to get a whole lot more complicated.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

