mom’s revenge

While we still have no rain,the heat has finally broken. We have had lows in the sixties and highs in the low nineties. It is time to get some yard work done.
My children woke up and popped out of their rooms out long enough to eat breakfast and then returned into hiding. This would not do. For one thing it is simply too nice to sit indoors. For another, I had already cleaned out the small shed and done a couple of loads of laundry and the dishes. They were not about to sit and do nothing while there was productivity to be found.
I asked them to help in the yard.
They did help,although I outworked all three of them combined. How well they work with me is a good gauge on their mental and emotional states. This morning I needed to use one step commands with all three and I still had to have them go over some things again.They did not quite understand that the entire back yard meant the entire back yard. Still, the work is done and the yard looks much better. Well, as good as a brown yard and dead and dying trees can look. I figure it is easier to replace landscaping and buy my veggies at the store than to have the well run dry.
The kids are now back hiding in their rooms. My daughter started Netflix for herself and with one exception,never shares her movies. I always know when a new movie is due in because The kids will get the mail and hide the little red envelope. No sneaky envelope hiding today. Their movie (they really think I don’t know they are doing this????) did not come in.
Because I care and would not want them to remain bored, in a bit I will ask the kids to do their indoor chores. This will irk them since they have already “worked” today. I have already completed half of their combined work so I do not have a whole lot of sympathy for their overworked selves.
Besides,it is the only way I know they are alive and breathing.
The therapeutic terms for such activities are fostering attachment through shared activity and learning life skills through hands on activities
I prefer to think of it simply as Mom’s Revenge on entitled teenagers who ignore their mother unless they want something.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to mom’s revenge

  1. Jeanne says:

    🙂 Way to go, Mom.

    And we’re praying that you get your rain.

Leave a Reply

