the good

Saturday was the big ceremony for my daughter and three others Mitchel award recipients. It was nice. My daughter had her moment in the sun and took advantage of every second of it.
Her two year old nephew had never seen her in her Class A’s and was afraid of her until she unbuttoned the jacket to show him she was still her.
There was the obligatory photo montage of the award recipient’s life. Luckily the kids had a few pictures from before they came home home.
I wish I could have known my daughter during her baby and toddler years.it is hard sometimes to think of what she went through when she was so young.I wish I could have been there to kiss it and make it better.
I am very proud to know her.
The boyfriend’s family came (we were not told they were coming) Oh.My. It is almost as if the family,or to be more specific, the dad is courting my daughter and not the son. Very weird vibes. Very weird. My daughter, of course, does not think it is weird for the dad of her boyfriend to buy the roses the boy friend gave her. She is in love;kind of,sort of.
She spent most of her time with the other cadets and only spent time with BF and family;almost as an after thought. We were polite. We introduced them to family. We thanked them for coming. We actually had more interaction with them than Daughter did.
All I can say is….oh,my.

Tonight we are having the big family celebration honoring my newest high school graduates. Their grown siblings will obnoxiously welcome them to the adulthood club. We are going to our favorite restaurant. All big family events are held there. It should be a good time. everyone is looking forward to it.
We’ll think of you dad.

Pictures will,I promise, be coming.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the good

  1. Jeanne says:

    Very cool. Congratulations to your daughter!

Leave a Reply

