solar cooking,scorpions in herb garden and what I do when I am too stressed to think

Last fall I picked up an ancient solar cooker from an elderly hippy off Craigslist. I was fifth on the list but all those before me didn’t want it because it was too big. It is big. It looks like a small old time satellite dish made of mirrors.It fits my six quart cast iron dutch oven perfectly. I made bread pudding in it earlier this week. Today I cooked off six quarts of pinto beans for the freezer. They came to a boil.
Pretty cool!
There is no sense in letting a hundred degree day go to waste.
While I was transplanting my kitchen herbs to their own bed this morning,I found my first scorpion of the summer. Later I found another one in my kitchen sink. I smashed them both into smithereens. I don’t like scorpions or hornets or spiders but they do not panic me.Water bugs on the other hand will have me in hysterics. The kids laugh at me when I run and hide from the giant demonic roaches (usually screaming “kill it,kill it!!!!”),but we all have our little phobias.
I am keeping myself busy doing yard work and some of the little things around the house I have been ignoring for a few months. If I can keep myself doing mindless chores, I can keep from thinking too much .Right now I do not want to do much thinking at all. Instead of deep thought,I hang curtains in the kitchen and paint outlet covers an antique bronze to match the few original twist light switches left in the house. I mow the grass by myself instead of having the kids do it. We have a standard gasoline push mower and it is very therapeutic to use.
My mama cat decided her two week old kittens needed to start learning to hunt. She brought them a very demised baby bird and was upset when I removed it from the broom closet (where she currently has her babies;she keeps moving them) and pitched it into the trash. I am all for home education and all,but some things are better taught elsewhere.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to solar cooking,scorpions in herb garden and what I do when I am too stressed to think

  1. Dad says:

    “Water bugs on the other hand will have me in hysterics.”

    ROFL

    My dear, I keep telling you that they are just harmless palmetto bugs. Just pick them up and put them someplace else.

    Love, Ya

Leave a Reply

