a great loss and other stuff

My laptop has gone to the great electronic graveyard. I am working through the grieving process and should be OK in time. It is a great loss,however. I thought I had backed everything up,but unfortunately I hadn’t. So… if you have an adoption blog (or anything interesting at all),please give me your URL I probably have lost it. All right,I have lost it.
I am using my husband’s laptop which has all the wrong bookmarks His keyboard actually has all of it’s keys and works properly.
This will take some getting used to. What will I blame my typos on now?

In other news,the kids participated in their third cardboard boat regatta last Saturday. Their boat held ten teenagers and won two awards. It was a lot of fun. Someday I will have a camera and be able to post pictures once again. Until then,you will just have to use your imaginations. Imagine a small lake (pond for those of you who are used to lakes being more than an acre or two in size) a lot of cardboard boats of varying sizes and designs operated by children as young as seven,family groups,organizations and individuals who just like to play around.Some participants were costumed. Some were in matching tee shirts. There were a few spectacular sinking,some humorous malfunctions and dramatic upsets. Like I said,it was a lot of fun.

My youngest daughter was given command of her flight last night. I had no idea they were doing the change of command and therefore did not drive (we share the driving with another family). I missed it entirely and it makes me sad to have done so. This is her greatest achievement thus far, and she should have had a parent there to witness it. This is bothering me much more than it is bothering her.

School for my eighth grader is winding down for the year. We worked straight through last summer and I need a break. My hopefully graduating seniors have approximately seven more weeks to finish their high school career. I am hoping I can hold it together that long. I really,really need some time away from homeschooling. I need to figure out what to do with my eighth grader for his high school. It has become very apparent he will not be successful in a slower paced,but still high school level course work. I will do a whole post about his learning style as I try and figure out what will help him the most.

Monday is back to court for youngest. His waiver expires in June. We are back to placement issues for him again. He has gone three months without wanting to kill anyone. This may be a record.

Our friendly IRS advocate is finally forwarding our paperwork to IRS proper. He says we have a fifty-fifty percent chance of actually receiving the credit because we did not claim outside expenses. ????. We were awarded the partial credit (off our taxable income) in ’09,so I am confused as to why this is a problem now. Oh well. At least we are moving in the right direction. Interestingly enough,they still do not want proof we actually did adopt a child. You would think that would be the first thing they would want to see,not the thing they tell us not to send in.
And we wonder why our country is in such a mess…..

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a great loss and other stuff

  1. Jeanne says:

    Sorry about your laptop! And I feel your pain on missing the change of command. As with most of our kids’ achievements, you know the significance far more than your daughter does… May there be many more occasions to celebrate that you get to be there for.

Leave a Reply

