a beautiful day in the neighborhood

It is absolutely gorgeous out this morning. We finally had some rain (three and a half inches around here)and today all the dust has been washed from the air. The temperatures are only supposed to be in the eighties for the next week and instead of winds thirty to forty MPH plus,we have gentle breezes. I know this is not enough rain to counteract the extreme drought,but it is a nice reprieve. I’ll take it.
When the kids were younger we would take a day like to day off. We would go hiking or something of that ilk. I simply cannot do that with them anymore. I wish I could. I would love to go slogging through the mud today. I sometimes (often) think this push to get the older two through high school is harder on me then it is them. I think they should be graduating by the end of June.
I hope so,anyway.

The change in weather has also brought a change in my nearly fifteen year old. He is smiling again. Smiling is this son’s base line. His smile is why, even when he was in the midst of peeing on my kitchen counters and smearing poop,we could never stay upset for long. You see,I can remember when his smile changed from that awful, fake, foster child please-be-nice-to-me-and take-care-of-me-because-I-am-endearing smile and became a real I-am-smiling-because-I-am-feeling-happy smile.

Last night while we were out our cat had her kittens right in the middle of my daughter’s bed.
Eww.
All three kittens and mama cat are doing fine. I know,I know. We are irresponsible pet owners. The month we had budgeted to get her spayed, our dog broke her leg and our pocket books. The kittens sure are cute,though.

I need to go hang my daughter’s sheets on the line and then proctor an English test for my almost fifteen year old.
It looks to be a beautiful day.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

