the benefits of hard work

Yesterday we did not do school.
We worked.
The boys came downstairs prepared to work in the yard. My daughter came to the table prepared to do her school. She missed the original and several subsequent announcements that Monday was a work day. She did pick up on the fact we were starting our day later, however. Hmm.
We all worked together outside;the boys working well; my daughter not so well. When their share of the outside work was done I told them to eat lunch,clean their rooms thoroughly,and then later in the afternoon they had weekly chores to do. I came inside to see them all starting their weekly chores. I told them to clean their rooms. My daughter continued to do her weekly chores ignoring me. I started cleaning out the refrigerator handing her more and more dishes to do (of the no longer identifiable food product variety.) She eventually decided it was in her best interest to just do as I asked.
By the end of the day she was in a better frame of mind,not perfect,but better. Both sons were cheerful and fun to be around. My yard was cleaned up. Bedrooms had visible floors, trash was no longer drifting into corners. and no dirty dishes were hiding under beds. My house was thoroughly clean.
The benefit of work,both yard and household,is it has tangible results.It reinforces joint ownership ( I hate that term,but cannot think of a better one) of our home. It changes chaos into control,clutter into order,and dirty into clean. It is nice not to have the smell of moldy dishes under the bed. It is nice to know where all the socks are. It is nice to have a nice smelling bathroom. It is nice to see a pretty yard.
It is nice to be reminded everyone is a member of this somewhat unusual family-even when we are pretending we are an island unto ourselves.
This morning school is as always. Everyone is at the table working. My daughter is correcting the paper she gave me for government last week in which she was adamant that Theodore Roosevelt was president during the last depression and WWII. (When asked if she didn’t mean his cousin Franklin,she was insistent she was correct.)
My sons are still cheerful this morning.
My daughter told me “good morning.”
She also slipped up and told me “I love you too” when I told her I loved her this morning.
Just one more benefit of hard work.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the benefits of hard work

  1. Jeanne says:

    Awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

