pee…..sigh

I have a son we once dubbed the Mad Pee-er. When he was eight and nine it wasn’t pleasant-especially when his stuffed animals were so saturated they dripped. He also had a bit of a bad habit with smearing poop.
Now poop smear-ers are very,very innovative (and fast). They can disrobe,poop,place poop in an out of the way yet offensive spot,re-robe and be seated at the table diligently doing their school work in the amount of time it takes one mom to run to the bathroom and very,quickly empty her own bladder-not even washing hands until said child was checked on.
I haven’t seen this son smear poop in years now (but somehow the memories linger),but a couple of times a year he tends to still pee. Large puddles at the foot of the stairs are left for reasons known only to him. It usually takes his dad or I threatening to get rid of the “incontinent dogs” for the floor to remain dry. It has been almost a year since our last small lake of pee. I had hoped it was a thing of the past.
This son will be fifteen the end of May.
My living room may be pee free, but the bathroom is getting hosed. I am thankful it is the bathroom. At least it is the appropriate room in which to pee.This is progress in a way. It is,however,the only bathroom.
And it stinks.
At first I thought it was just laziness. I am still approaching it as laziness even though I know better. It started after the last grandchild visit. For some reason all three of the kids are jealous of this grandson and his baby brother. He is the high maintenance four year old so that may have something to do with it. I do tend to have to watch him very closely to prevent injury or destruction. He is very loving,just text book ADHD with a very vivid imagination. The baby was teething and following me around crying if he wasn’t in my arms,so they do take most of my attention when they are here.I really don’t know any other reason. The other grandchildren do not get this reaction.
In case there are some therapeutic “you need to get him to verbalize his anger instead of it leaking out (pun intended) sideways”;my son is FAS and has never been able to verbalize an emotion.Never. I do not know if he can identify his emotions let alone work through the feelings appropriately.
Anyway…..
The Mad Pee-er has returned.
Sigh.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to pee…..sigh

  1. Jeanne says:

    Ugh. Not fun. 😦

Leave a Reply

