a new year

I am very glad we have entered the new year. Last week was busy. I thought that keeping four of the five grandchildren would be a good idea. If the baby hadn’t been teething and the five year old hadn’t gotten a tummy bug and a major family get-together with big meal hadn’t been planned for the second day and if I hadn’t gotten the migraine from hell on the day of the big family get together, it would have been fine. It was still fine;just not as fine as it could have been. The two three year old little boys managed to find the marshmallows in the pantry,strip off their lower halves and make a pee lake in the utility room (which they then jumped over until one of them slipped in said pee) They both thought it was uproariously funny-until they had to help clean it up. They only escaped from the back yard once. They were hunting Bad Guys and needed to hunt them outside the back yard fence. They also needed to turn on the garden hose and melt the bad guys,succeeding in soaking themselves and tracking mud everywhere. They were not happy little boys when they had to come inside and get dry (and warm).
I must say the Dora the Explorer,while popular with the five and under set, is not even remotely entertaining for those who are past kindergarten. Although grandpa did dance along with the ten dancing trees which provided amusing to all.
We have an old set of sleigh bells we have been carrying around for years and years. For a long time they were our low tech security device when my fourteen year old was younger and would wander the house at night. The grandkids saw them and were making them jingle. I explained to them how we acquired the bells. It seems that when their great-grandpa (that’s you dad) was a boy they fell off Santa’s sleigh as he flew over great-grandpa’s house. Their great-grandpa found them in his snowy yard on Christmas morning and we have had the Genuine Santa Sleigh Bells in the family ever since.
Not bad for a spur of the moment instant family legend,even if I do say so myself.

I apologize for all the self centered wallowing I have been subjecting you to. I am not by nature a pessimist,nor am I normally a wallower in self-pity. A good friend told me wallowing is a symptom of menopause and will pass. It is a comfort to know I am not losing what is left of my mind. I promise to try and keep my wallowing to myself in the future. It is a new year,a new decade and a good time to look forward.
So,forward I will look.
Here is to the new year.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a new year

  1. Jeanne Holt says:

    What a holiday! Pee Lake is bound for family legend status, I am sure. LOL. Great sleigh bell story, too!

    Wishing you your best and happiest year ever.

Leave a Reply

