christmas eve eve

My shopping is completed! Today I am baking and making the candy I should have made a week ago. Cheese balls are done. The fake crab dip is finished. Cheesecakes baked and cooling. I am making double of everything so I can just pull it our next week when the rest of the family comes. For us I am making a turkey with all the fixings for our big meal on Christmas Eve. On Christmas day I will serve homemade cinnamon rolls and finger type foods. My husband and the two older teens have to work on Christmas Day. Thankfully, they are not at work until two in the afternoon. It will make Christmas morning much more relaxing.
I still need to wrap presents. I nearly always end up wrapping after everyone is in bed on Christmas Eve. Last year I was done early.
Maybe I can find time to wrap today.
Maybe not.
What I need is an infusion of Holiday Spirit. I seem to have lost mine somewhere.
All I am seeing is the work involved and the lack of help. Oh,if I am specific in my request,I get help. It is given grudgingly and that tends to just make me upset,so I ask infrequently. My family wants the results. They don’t want to help much. And they wonder why I get burned out and grumpy.
Sigh.
This is why I keep Christmas Day low,low,low key. Not for my kids,but for me. I want to be able to enjoy the day as well.
Back to baking.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to christmas eve eve

  1. Jeanne Holt says:

    Wishing you the all the joy your heart can handle.

Leave a Reply

