correction on my grandson’s potential diagnosis and getting used to life in the much slower lane

My grandson is being tested for retinal blastoma-not glioblastoma. I do not know if I haerd the blastoma and filled in the blank incorrectly,or if my daughter misspoke. It is still a cancer,but not as potentially devastating.
It is funny what is the hardest to get used to living in an old house with no big city services again. It is not the lack of a dishwasher. I have found I really do not mind doing dishes by hand. No central heat only bothers me when my grandchildren are here. I worry about the little ones around the wood stove and space heaters.I worry that the floors are so cold. When it is just us bigger people,it isn’t so bad. We are getting used to living in zones. Only one bathroom hasn’t even been all that inconvenient. The hardest part is getting the kids to say they are inside when you knock on the door. They do lock the door,they just would rather have someone try and open the locked door rather than acknowledge they are in there. The shampoo and conditioner seem to be disappearing at a rapid rate as well. I buy the mongo size from Costco. To watch a giant bottle of conditioner disappear in one week when only two of us have any hair to speak of is perplexing. Since I made a fairly big deal about not drinking the conditioner,the shampoo has begun to vanish.
I haven’t figured out why consumption has gone up when we are still only five people. I probably don’t want to know. Not having consistent internet is difficult. Not having a car during the day is taking some getting used to. Normally it wouldn’t faze me. Once Christmas is over, I probably won’t mind very much. The teens mind. Living thirty five miles from town means they have to work with my husband’s schedule. We have mentioned they would not have to leave activities early if they learned to drive. My daughter snottily reminded me we only have one car(our second has been given to my middle daughter and son-in-law after they were in an accident and their vehicle was totaled). I reminded her she was nineteen,had a job and could save her money and purchase her own car. She was not happy with that suggestion.
The other thing that is harder for me than I thought it would be, is other people’s reaction to our new home. I look around and see this house how it will be. They see it as it is. They see the crown molding that was overlapped instead of cut. They see the bathroom which is ugly as being,well,ugly. I can’t blame anyone there. Why the previous owners removed a tub and shower combination and installed a Lowe’s special,bottom of the line shower in the middle of long narrow room is a mystery.The interior does need paint and caulking and windows repaired. The staircase is interestingly constructed-not one step is the same height. The carpet is glued on unevenly. These are all things we can do something about. Eventually. We see garden space and chickens and bees. They see an overgrown yard with jungle-like areas. We see a chance to try and simplify our lives. They see lack of services.
It should not bother me,what others see and think. I am surprised at myself just how much it does.
I think things will begin to even out after the holidays. For six of my children they are triggers. Even my adult children get wonky and jumpy and controlling this time of year. With their own children they are fine. It is me they tend to allow that part show to. While I understand it,it is still exhausting to be the target.
On the whole I am happy out here in my itty bitty micro town. I enjoy the quiet. I enjoy planning improvements to the yard and the house itself. It is nice to have the freedom to make improvements,but not have to pay for repairs or materials. My husband and myself like it here. The older teens do have the option of independence if the do not. They are legally adults.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to correction on my grandson’s potential diagnosis and getting used to life in the much slower lane

  1. Lone Star Kristy says:

    May I just say, thank you? Thank you for being one of the few remaining people who understand the difference between cosmetics and good bones in a house. I was raised that way. As long as a house has a nice layout and is structurally sound, the rest can be fixed. Maybe not immediately, but it. can. be. fixed. I want to throttle people who look at a house, admit that it’s perfect, but then walk away because they don’t care for the paint in one of the bedrooms. HGTV has created an entire generation of narrow-minded people! :o)
    I’m sure your new place is lovely, and what fun to get to slowly turn it into a dream home yourselves. And Amen to a simplier life!

  2. Jeanne Holt says:

    I’ll come to your house and marvel at the garden space and chickens and bees and GREENERY. I’ll love your home for its potential and for its current hominess. I’ll even be a bit envious of your freedom and your itty bitty microtown. I’ll even come wash dishes with you. 🙂 It may be a bit of a drive from Arizona though…

Leave a Reply

