i am in internet withdrawl

This is serious! I have now gone two weeks with no internet at home. I am back to the library for about a half an hour and I am doing my best to catch up on the outside world.My oldest asked me if the shakes had subsided yet. I told her they were getting worse. I may begin to hallucinate soon if we don’t get something up and running.
In reality,I have been keeping very busy and it only bothers me when I actually sit down for a bit.
We worked on the yard today. It was absolutley beautiful outside. Seventy and sunny. Three more thirty-gallon trash bags worth of garbage from the back yard and quite a few haircuts to all of the overgrown “landscaping” There are areas of the yard that are quite jungle like. It is beginning to really feel like home. I am trying to pick paint colors for the inside. Once Christmas is over I want to get rid of the industrial beige and add a bit of color to the walls.
The kids are finally coming out of their sideways,passive aggressive anger reaction to the move. My daughter turned nineteen and refused to tell me what she wanted for her birthday meal. It felt like a test to see if I could magically figure out what her favorite meal is.The only problem with that is she has never had a favorite meal. I ended up making a salad and potato bar with grilled chicken and homemade french bread.
I guessed correctly and she was happy with me again. She will be home for nine years in April and still isn’t fully secure in her place. It is hard when the attachment issues resurface. It hurts my feelings,truth be told.
My time is about up.
One good thing about our internet fast is the kids are finding other things to do besides sneak online.
It probably isn’t hurting me quite as much as I let on either.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to i am in internet withdrawl

  1. Jeanne Holt says:

    Thankful for libraries. 🙂
    Good call on the salad/potato bar. Probably didn’t hurt that the meal was designed so she could “have it her way.” Smart Mom!
    Glad it’s feeling more like home. What a blessing for you all.
    ❤ Jeanne

Leave a Reply

