moving right along

Get it? Moving right along?
We are now ninety-five percent packed and loaded in the pod. I have very little left to do until moving day. This is good because I am running out of steam. I packed most of my kitchen today. We are now down to paper plates and plastic drinking glasses (and my coffee mug). I had to leave out enough things to make the pumpkin pecan cheesecake and the homemade crescent rolls I am bringing to my oldest daughter’s for Thanksgiving next week. This will be the first year I haven’t hosted Thanksgiving in over thirteen years. It seems a little weird not to be doing the baking marathon this year.
I am having to find jobs for my fourteen year old to do. He took the bed which used to be Youngest’s but will soon be my grandson’s apart for me by himself. This has been his older brother’s job whenever we have moved beds around. He was quite proud to be able to take the frame apart by himself. We have three (now two) of these solid oak bed frames. They were Air Force surplus and are indestructible. We will be getting a different bed for the guest/Youngest bedroom once we move. It is a tiny room and the super heavy duty extra long bed will not fit well.
I am getting excited about the new house! It will be so much more “us” than where we are now. I am in no way shape of form a suburbanite. This is a bit funny because I grew up in suburbia. I am looking forward to drinking my coffee on my porch swing. I am looking forward to the absence of emergency sirens. I am looking forward to no more HOA. I am looking forward to living in a house that is nearly one hundred years old and walking on floors made of wood,not plastic made to look like wood. i am looking forward to knowing where all my stuff is at.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to moving right along

  1. Jeanne Holt says:

    🙂 Moving right along. Yep. Got it. Smiling big just thinking of you all settled in your new home… won’t be long now!

Leave a Reply

