much ado about nothing

My kids have never done change all that well. With all of the changes afloat these past months I was on the lookout for backlash. For the most part the kids are handling things the best they have ever done. School is actually on schedule this year. This has never happened before. Ever.
When my daughter went from dressing up to do her school at the kitchen table everyday, to not brushing her hair,I became concerned. She was wearing skirts and dressing so well to stay home I often thought she had made plans to go out. The change to no grooming and just plain sloppy happened,it seemed,overnight.
Is she depressed?
More boy trouble?
Stressed over the impending move?
Having flashbacks of her early childhood?
She did not seem depressed. I asked her repeatedly if she was alright. She always told me she was. (of course she will tell me that even when she is not)
I was mentioning my concerns to my middle daughter. I mentioned her sister going from curling her hair and hours in front of the mirror grooming, to tying up her hair unbrushed, no makeup and ratty clothes even in public. Even to go shopping. Even to work.
My older daughter started to laugh. It seems it is a new fad to look unkempt. The sloppier the better.
My nearly nineteen year old is simply trying on a new,albeit sloppy,look.
Silly me.
All that worry for nothing.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to much ado about nothing

  1. Jeanne Holt says:

    Funny! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

