it’s working

I have gone back to forbidding my fourteen year old any electronic contact on Sundays. No games. No movies. Absolutely no electronic stimulation at all. Last week he was sneaking the computer and his work suffered. This weekend I made it nigh on impossible for him to sneak any video time. His time overall has also been cut way back. He is down to only two nights a week he is allowed to play.
His ability to function has increased dramatically.
It is amazing,really,how much it does effect him. Today he is able to do his math without forgetting basic concepts. His organization is better,as is his handwriting. I haven’t seen any ticking at all. He is correcting his mistakes without that blank look I dread.
The other change that may be helping is junk food consumption has gone way down. We have a convenience store a couple of blocks away that the kids will walk to if they want junk. I have increased my baking here at the house (not that my husband or myself need to be eating cookies) and the kids have been walking to the store a lot less. I do not think it is the empty calories that bother my son. I think all of the artificial ingredients do. Dyes,MSG,some preservatives make it much,much harder for him to think. The stuff I bake at home may be calorie laden,but it is naturally calorie laden.
I realize that my son’s brain is mis-wired from birth. Still,if video games and artificial colors cause him to have increased neurological difficulties to such a noticeable degree,what does it do to the rest of us?

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to it’s working

  1. Jeanne Holt says:

    Good job, Mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

