cleaning the garage

Later this week we have a Realtor coming to tell us the approximate market value of our house. We need to know if it is worth enough to try and sell in this market. I am using this as an excuse to get all the deep cleaning done. On the list was cleaning out the garage. I delegated this to my fourteen year old son.Earlier this spring we hauled everything out of the garage and organized all of our junk.There was now an official place for everything. It has become a bit of a mess again, which is why I asked my son to clean it. I reminded my son to put like with like as he worked. Just put things back away where they go.
“OK mom” was his cheerful reply.
He worked very hard. Everything was hauled out. He even dusted the shelves before he put everything back away.He was very proud of his work. He did work hard. It looked nice.
Fast forward to this morning. I wanted to feed the cats. They are fed in the garage to keep the dogs away from their food. I found their bowls OK,but where on earth was their food? For that matter,where was the lawn mower? The broom? The weed whacker? Why were the toddler toys in the wheel barrow? I don’t even want to begin to try and find the screwdrivers.
This is the cleaning of the pantry all over again. It took me a couple of weeks to find where my son put everything then.When I do find the screw drivers they will all be together. They just won’t be with the rest of the hand tools.They might be with the paper towels,or the cleaning supplies.. His FAS brain just doesn’t see connections very well. Hence the very clean and neatly disorganized garage.
Neither his father or I will say a word. We will just quietly put things back where they belong as we find them. If we find them.
This son makes me smile.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

