a response

I was given two names as potential therapists for my youngest son. One has not returned my call. I am of course hoping he is on vacation. The second returned my call yesterday afternoon. She listened to my description of my son and his behaviors,both past and current. She agreed that I was describing DID,but would want to have him formally evaluated before she told me definitively. She also told me that his level of violence and his unpredictability may make her unable to work with him/us. She will contact colleagues for advice over the long weekend and get back to me first of the week. She is experienced with DID and trauma. She has never had a client with homicidal ideations. She discussed with me he may be unable to be maintained at home. I told her we were aware of that,but his father and I were his last hope of getting the help he needs. His only other alternative will be back in the judicial system. Our insurance is worthless and post adopt is even more worthless.
What do we do with a child who is too complicated for the professionals?
Today the only one that will be home is myself and the two younger boys. The son I cannot allow to be alone with youngest will be my only back up. Tomorrow I will be completely alone with my troubled son all day. I have no idea how I am going to do this. If I take my eyes off him,something is broken. If I correct him,he starts gets agitated. The only thing he wants to do is to “play” with his Bionicals. That “play” is always dark and I believe he is not really playing but talking to himself. He won’t read or draw,or build with his kinex. He just sits and stares and talks to himself,or pretends to sleep or pets the dogs obsessively.I can’t let him near the cats.
I just got my son out of bed. Today, he informed me,was his camouflage day. He had on his cammo shorts,and his cammo wallet and his cammo monkey. I told him I wouldn’t be able to see him. He laughed.
He is now playing with his stuffed monkey. He sneezed and his deep voice is back.
It isn’t boring around here anyway.
What I wouldn’t give for some boredom right now.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a response

  1. Jeanne Holt says:

    Praying for your safety. Praying for a therapist. Praying for healing.

Leave a Reply

