faces, can’t vs won’t and some good news on my dad


After seven days and four rewrites my eighteen year old daughter has given me an assignment I can accept. She could in fact write at the seventh grade level. When I told her “Good job!” and mentioned I could see some effort had been put forth,she beamed. It was worth the battle just to see that smile. She knew she had given me her best and I knew she had given me her best. That is what builds true self confidence. It also gives me gray hair,but that is a small price to pay.
Her seventeen year old brother has yet to give me his paper. Maybe today? Our upstairs computer has gotten the flu(a nasty virus. It will have to be re-formatted.The kids were downloading music again,although they will deny it to the death.) so there is no way for him to play video games while he is supposed to be doing his school. This son has the most executive funtion of the three siblings. He can understand some higher level thinking ,but still can’t figure out how I know when he has been on the computer.
It is extremely hard to know when to push and when to back off. I rely one hundred percent on my instincts-and then question my self. I do know we are not having the secondary problems associated with FASD. I am very grateful for that. We have had glimpses. The whole texting fiasco comes to mind. So far we have avoided the worst. This is part of the reason I am not pushing my kids out the door just yet. I want to give them a chance to mature. It is hard to navigate the cold hard world when you are emotionally fourteen.

My dad called me today. He will be going home a week from tomorrow! He is back to his old self. I am more than grateful for his recovery. I am not ready to loses my daddy just yet. He promised me he’d live to be one hundred. That gives me thirty more years to annoy him. I am so very,very glad he will be home with my brother again. Now I just have to work on getting them to move down here to the warm. It is much easier to ride out an economic depression where I live than where they are.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

