Getting ready for Thanksgiving,parenting via the telephone,and the high cost of postage.

I have the kids out doing yard work. If they are lucky,this will be the last time the yard will need to be mowed until spring. (February) School is out until next week. One out of three are caught up. The other two are pretty far behind. I simply do not care. We all need a break. Me from excuses and having to be the one with the whip (and the one to listen to all the reasons why thirty minutes of work is taking three days),and the kids from spending all of their mental energy trying to convince me it takes three days to do thirty minutes worth of work. Besides,I don’t know if I will be able to keep a straight face if I keep reading about WW1 through the eyes of my daughter. It has certainly been eye-opening so far.
Instead we will clean the house and the yard and I will do the traditional cooking marathon on Wednesday,so that on Thursday all I need to do is stuff the bird, get it cooking and mash some potatoes. This is our biggest feast of the year. The kids are allowed to eat whatever they wish and there is no limit. This is the day when vegetables are optional and if all you want is mashed potatoes-so be it. We are very relaxed. Once the cooking is done, it is my favorite holiday.
I talked to youngest via the phone. He talked to me while his therapist listened. It was interesting to say the least. I will say this,he was much more engaged with the conversation than he usually is. He is on level Bronze and was given an award for doing well in school last week. He is also switching therapists this week. There is nothing like a little continuity in care….
Any bets as to how long the good will last?
When I have a descent conversation with my son I want desperately for this to be the sign he is turning a corner. I know, I know. This isn’t our first rodeo. If he is still doing well in three months, I will begin to let real hope inside. Until then,I will watch as my son dances to his old favorites. Good,not so good. Suddenly very good. Even more suddenly very,very not good. No obvious triggers to be seen. It is a dance I don’t mind sitting out.
My Dad’s birthday is always at Thanksgiving. It is actually the day before my grandson’s birthday,which is the day before Thanksgiving (this year) if you want to be more precise. Since I’ve not been living withing driving distance of Dad these past few years,I’ve taken to sending baked goods north. Every year I complain about the cost of postage. This year is no different. I about swallowed my tongue when the package lady gave me the total. Next year I am going to have to do something different. My banana bread isn’t that good. To make it worse,I am late this year and the packages won’t even get there until Friday.
Sorry,Dad.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

