the rest of the family

The rest of the family seems to be handling life just fine. The kids at home are much, much lighter since the news youngest will not be returning home anytime in the foreseeable future. We have talked about birth families, choices and freewill. We have talked about feeling guilty for not liking someone you love. We have talked quite a bit about mom and dad carrying the burden for the youngest-not them. They have done their bit.
School is finally in a workable rhythm. We have a schedule that keeps everyone moving forward and still allows them down time. With the exception of my thirteen year old sneaking the calculator to do his math (no calculators until algebra), they are buckling down and giving me their best.
My grown kids are,well,grown. They are handling themselves well, even when life isn’t easy. The grandkids are healthy and causing their parents a few early gray hairs.
It is time for me to give youngest fully over to God. I have done what I can do. The kids still at home need me to be more fully engaged with them. My grown kids need me to bounce ideas and complaints off of. My grandkids need me to play with them. I need to regain my perspective. The grief doesn’t vanish,it becomes incorporated in. I know this is a proccess. I know I will take the burden back from God from time to time. For today I will rest in the knowledge and comfort of God’s love-for my family and for myself.
For today it is enough.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the rest of the family

  1. Magnolia says:

    I always love your perspective Lindy, your ability to summarize your life’s circumstances and to move forward.

Leave a Reply

