trying to balance an emotional (and frustrating) week

CIMG1177(2)
Thursday my nearly seventeen year old son broke down. It was his turn. We had a long talk about his fear of becoming his birth father. He felt better afterwards. I was a bit drained. Later that afternoon was the Head Shrinker appointment for youngest. I left feeling very,very frustrated. All you nurses out there will be happy to know that hyponatremia due to psychotropic medication doesn’t need to be tracked by labs. There is no reason for sodium levels because the symptoms are obvious. We can just wait for the tongue to hang out,the decrease in level of consciousness and perhaps the seizures that may occur. Oh and doing extreem physical exertion in the heat will not exacerbate the problem. This is a paraphrase (with sarcasm inserted) of what the psychiatrist told my husband and myself. He is removing the ADHD meds and the antidepressant and adding a new anti-psychotic (who’s main side effect is ….Hyponatremia) used to treat bipolar disorder-which he assured me my son does not have. When I commented that if feels as if my son has been experimented on with all the medications he has been prescribed through the years, I was told “Why,no one is doing research on him”.
This morning I was called by my son’s case manager and told the pass he was denied due to an incident report was actually going to occur-when could I pick him up? The visit was mildly oppositional,very manipulative and wearying. The other children politely avoided him.
I am thankful tomorrow is Sunday. I need a day to relax and talk to God. This parenting stuff is hard some weeks.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

