gearing up for school

We have had a very long break this year.
Today two-thirds of next years curriculum came in. My high schoolers will be doing Sonlight’s Core 300 and my seventh grader will be doing Core 5. We use Rod and Staff for grammar,Apologia chemistry and Teaching Textbooks Geometry and Algebra II for the high schoolers and my younger son will be doing a mish mash for science,including graphic science books and Rod and Staff for math. I need to fit in Spanish for the older two as well.
I am sure I will modify the Sonlight somewhat. My kids work hard to learn and it takes them more time than most. When you consider where we started seven years ago,it is an absolute miracle they have accomplished what they have.
I need a new book case.
To gear up I am getting some food ready to go in the freezer. Today I made 40 breakfast tacos. I have several loaves of homemade bread in the freezer,plus chicken,beef and fish pre-cooked and frozen. I have found that having the meat pre-cooked in meal sized portions,frees up a lot of my time on a daily basis and still allows flexibility for meals. I need to cook off some bean burritos as well. Then I should have a good head start on the fall.
Over the next few days I am going to (really,honestly,no more putting it off) organize my books,get rid of the rest of the poorly done by the previous owner built-in upstairs,and rearrange the school and art supplies. I need to find a new place to store our many and sundry board games.
I have instructor’s guides to organize. I have books to pre-read.
I am hoping this year to make up for all the drama and interruptions from last year.
I am almost motivated.
Really, I am.
Honest.

About lenell

Wife to a very patient man and mom to 8 interesting kids via birth,marriage and adoption. Grandma to nearly 5,nearly perfect grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to gearing up for school

  1. Jonam says:

    Your are learning from your own experience

Leave a Reply

